A Scripture a Day Keeps the Devil at Bay

AScriptureADayKeepsTheDevilAtBay

If you’re like me, then you probably stay busy. It might be difficult to fit in time for reading, but as a Christian, I’ve found that it’s extremely helpful to read a bit of the Bible every day, no matter how busy you are.

As this graphic aptly states, just a scripture a day can keep the devil at bay. Even if you don’t have time to read an entire chapter, just reading a verse or two can make a huge difference in your daily outlook.

When I think back on some of the worst days of my life, sure enough I didn’t read my daily scripture. This isn’t to say that just because you read a verse of the Bible you’ll have a fantastic day. We all undoubtedly will have bad days and troublesome times. However, I’ve personally found that reading at least one scripture a day greatly improves my mood and helps me stay positive.

Much of how “good” or “bad” your day turns out to be is influenced by your outlook. Reading a scripture a day can help you maintain the positive outlook you need for success, which is part of why I encourage all fellow Christians to engage in the practice of reading at least one scripture a day. Not only will it help improve your attitude, but it’ll help keep you grounded in your faith and close to God.

Ways to Read a Scripture Every Day

Nowadays there’s really no excuse for not reading a scripture every day. Even if you don’t have a physical copy of your Bible in hand with you at all times, you most likely have your phone, laptop, tablet or other device, and there’s a couple of ways to read scriptures on these devices.

Reading Apps

Download a reading app onto your device, and then download your favorite version of the Bible to the app. Select from Kindle, Nook, iBooks or countless other reading apps, and then choose the King James Version, New International version or whatever version of the Bible you’re most comfortable with and download it to your device as well. You can get downloadable copies of virtually every version of the Bible completely free.

I’m a Kindle fan, so I mostly read the Bible on my Kindle Paperwhite. I’m also on a mission to fully read the Bible from cover to cover (surprisingly, I’ve never done that yet), and for my first read-through, I’m reading the English Standard Version (ESV). My reason for doing so is because for my first time I wanted the text to be simpler for better understanding – so that I can better “get” the gist of every event that happened. After the first read-through, then I’ll go back and reread with the more traditional King James Version.

I’m a firm believer that you should use the version you’re most comfortable with. I’m of the mindset that it’s not effective to drudge through reading that you don’t understand. What good is it to read a verse if you don’t get anything out of it? That’s the biggest complaint I commonly hear about the Bible – that it’s hard to understand. True, Old English text and phrases can be difficult to comprehend. That’s why I prefer to read a more modernized translation and then work my way up to the more traditional format. Again, do whatever works for you, though.

Daily Bible Verse Apps

Alternatively (or in addition to), download a daily Bible verse app. These apps auto-generate a “verse of the day” for each day. All you have to do is open up the app and read the verse. Some of them can even be configured to deliver a “New Verse of the Day” notification to your phone at the time you choose. For instance, I personally like the following app:

Bible Daily Verses

It’s available for download on both iTunes and Android devices, and you can even get daily Bible verses delivered to your email by visiting the developer’s website if you’d prefer to get your scriptures that way.

I love having the app on my phone, though, because you can change the app’s background to whatever you wish (I have mine set to a lovely baby blue damask pattern), and I have mine set to deliver my new verse of the day every day at 7 a.m. I really like this feature because I get a little “ping” that reminds me to read my verse of the day, so even if I get so busy that I fail to open up my physical Bible and read it later on, I’ve at least started my day off right by reading at least one verse. Plus, not only can you customize the background on this app and set your notifications, but you can also toggle between Bible versions and languages. I even like to take the verse of the day from this app and write it on a dry erase board I keep on the fridge to remind me of the verse throughout the day.

Of course, there’s plenty of other great daily Bible verse apps out there, and you can use whatever one you wish. I’ve tried several, but this one remains my favorite.

So when you’re looking for a way to keep the devil at bay, remember to read a scripture a day!

How do you prefer to read the Bible? What measures do you take to get in your daily Bible reading? Feel free to comment your thoughts below.

 

Leave a Reply

